you're reading...
PORTFOLIO

Alas…..


It has been several weeks since my last post. No, I did not forget about my blog, but seemed to have been trapped in the lists that have accumulated in my life. These many things to do often take over and take priority until alas, there is a moment when I can sit down and catch up. This is such a moment.

Spring break has arrived here, at least for Mr.T anyway. I’m pretty sure that means that I will be the one who needs the break. In fact, I have already made a list of things to do while I can take advantage of an extra set of hands. Little does he know he will become acquainted with the duster and learn the art of purging. Speaking of which, how on earth do children acquire so much STUFF? Random stuff, little bits of broken toys, cheap cereal box and fast food plastic nothings and an array of mismatched socks, dust bunnies and just junk! I have nearly perfected the art of purging, and want to teach my kids not to hang on to things that are useless, that being said, I do encourage them to think of other uses rather than tossing things into the trash. I am also furiously working on persuading them to part with belongings that they simply have no need or desire for. Should be loads of fun in our house over the course of next week.

Spring is nearly here. I can almost feel the crisp breeze through my windows now. I can almost smell the smell of clean. I can almost hear the sound of fresh paint being rolled on my walls, and see the kitten made from the collection of dust that lingers inside the light bulb covers. Yes, spring to me means clean. Spring denotes softness and freshness. Spring to me says that summer is on its way. Spring reminds me of new Easter Sunday clothes, family brunches and afternoons at the park. It reminds me that a few months covered in the shadows of clouds and fog were worth it; that even though the worms are out, mud will cake my clean floors and sand will come home in running shoes, it’s a refreshing season.

So, over the next few weeks, as the chaos of life slowly wines down (fingers crossed) I will take little moments to remind myself that I can’t always make a list, and I shouldn’t always make things to do, but just enjoy being in the moment.

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Alas…..

  1. You are right that spring is in the air, Markella. The sunshine today is wonderful, isn’t it? I had to chuckle at your inadvertant typo (or was it?!) – “as the chaos of life wines down” – does a nice glass of the bubbly stuff help meet the chaos of life? Hah! All the best for your cleaning. I’m not sure how far mine will go today. My cleaner was due an hour ago and I just reached her by phone to find out she can’t come because she is having car trouble and is still in Salmon Arm. Oi veh – now what? Guess I’ll have to find another cleaner. Wish me luck.

    Posted by ianmooremorrans | March 15, 2013, 8:25 pm
    • I’m glad you caught that, yes, it was intended. I often throw some in my blog, but they are seldom noted;)
      After this morning the cleaning begins…. The purging and the filling of garbage bags. I hope to see you both soon!

      Posted by markella | March 16, 2013, 3:47 pm
  2. Spring means clean and fresh to me too 🙂

    Posted by writesfromtheheart | March 16, 2013, 6:21 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

