you're reading...
EVER WONDER?, EXPERIENCES, FAMILY DIARIES, INSPIRATION, Things My Kids Ask Me....things I say back

Do you get birthdays in heaven ? And other thoughtful things kids ponder.


I’ve written before at how remarkable my children are-who hasn’t written or spoken about their kids with pride and love ?

Still it never ceases to amaze me, that in one moment Mr.T and Little A can be in a death match over a piece if Lego and the next Mr.T is kindly helping his little brother get dressed, and asking Little A about his preferred type of superpower to save the world.

Mr. T says he will be a scientist to create ‘anti-venom’ to cure cancer AND rabies.

Brothers. So different yet so similar.

Little A often poses questions that are support the fact that he’s three.

Common three year old Questions

Why do we need to brush our teeth?

Same reply day in, day out.

Why do I NEED to get dressed?

Still, this confused even me, so I sit back and barter with him.

How are cars made? And Engines?

Ask your Dad, I can tell you about the alphabet or how to make shades from a few paint colors.

Will IT hurt?

‘It’ being anything, everything and sometimes even nothing.

Why?

Because.

How come we have snow ?

Proceed to explain precipitation and also spell CANADA, s-l-o-w-l-y.

Why do we have belly buttons?

So you could eat when you lived inside my tummy.

How did I get in your tummy? Did you eat me?

Yes, I ate you. Get your pajamas on, please.

Mr. T on the other hand asks similar questions but tends to add his own , whatchamacallit ….

Common Mr. T questions /Conversations

What does snot smell like? could we use it in an experiment?

Gross. Smell your nose and no, we can’t, your head will cave in (I think this is scientifically proven).

Mom, I don’t want to go to school today. I want to stay home with you and paint all day and write stories. Please?

No.

Why do I need to go to school?

You’re lucky to be able to go to school. You’ll learn all kinds of things, and play with your friends.

But, isn’t that what we do at home? I learn more from you.

No. Get your underwear on.

Are there birthdays in Heaven? I hope so.

I think whatever we love is in heaven buddy.

I had a complicated day, I don’t feel like talking. That’s all I do alllllll day.

Alright kiddo.
He continues to rant.

Why can’t I have video games?

Sigh. Sigh. Sigh.

Mom, why can’t I play video games?

Because, your brain will shrink, we want to spend time with you, use your imagination, read a book, play with your toys, paint, make a craft, play a game, play with play-dough, use your chemistry set, solve world hunger, clean your room,match socks, build a Lego city, build a fort, go skating, swimming, to the park, ski, kick a ball, dig in crevices in the sofa for treasure……..

Ok, ok mom.
(Love it).

My favorite of all…..

If God made people, people build cities, right?

Right.

So, people build things?

Yes (hesitation).

So, if God is God, then how come he wouldn’t just do it all for us, and then there would be no pollution. Right?

I suppose ….. But then we wouldn’t learn to appreciate or learn from our mistakes.

But then people are just wrecking the earth?!

Yeah buddy, people are.

We should go to the dump and use the junk to make robots to fix things!

Well, bud it doesn’t really….

Lets go to the dump!

Ahhhh conversations with My David Suzuki/ Dahli Lama/Rumi child…..

If you happen to see me picking through a pile of your garbage, point out the stuff that’s useable please. I’ve run out of logical answers.

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Do you get birthdays in heaven ? And other thoughtful things kids ponder.

  1. I loved reading about your kids’ questions, Markella. Brings back lots of memories of my kids’ questions. It also exhausts me just thinking about how frustrated I got trying to think up proper answers. I’m glad I’m beyond that stage of my life. And yet, it was nice to have someone think I had all the answers. When they got to be pre-teens and teenagers they seemed to think I didn’t have ANY answers. In fact, I was just plain wrong! I guess for everyone’s questions there is a season, eh? Gayle Moore-Morrans

    Posted by ianmooremorrans | January 21, 2013, 8:23 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

