you're reading...
EVER WONDER?, EXPERIENCES, INSPIRATION, SONGS FROM MY SUBCONSCIOUS, Writing Adventures

I’m going to have an Affair


I was going to write a letter to 2012 wishing it good riddance,but decided to write 2013 a letter of love instead. After all, the past is finished, isn’t it?

Dear 2013,

We haven’t known each other for very long, a few days at best. I wanted to make sure I set the ground rules for our year long relationship. Perhaps I neglected to this in a coherent way with your relative 2012.
In any sense, we need to get things off on the right foot if you and I intend on coexisting in harmony.

Firstly, please no negative surprises at the start, middle, end, or even in each quarter of the year. I plan on remaining a positive spirit and friend of support and love, so again let the Debbie downer idea escape your thoughts.

No that that’s out of the way, here is what I vow to you and myself 2013:

I promise to try. Try and do. Even if I have to dig real deep and feel like giving up, I won’t.

I promise to never stop doing what I love and feel passionate about. Never , not even for you.

I promise to give my family the best of me, all of me, all the time.

I promise to take care of myself. My health, my spirituality, my mental and emotional well being.

I promise to write, to finish and start new projects. To submit my work in hopes for the first rejection letter that will lead to a yes.

I promise to make new friends, even when I feel like being a hermit.

I promise to dream big and act big.

I promise to cry more instead of holding back.

I promise to laugh more, to have more fun.

I promise to keep putting myself ‘outside the box’.

I promise to clear away the clutter in my life.

I promise to forgive.

To say I’m sorry.

To say ‘I love you’.

I promise to stand up for what’s right, always.

I promise to let the small stuff slide.

To smile more often.

To give my time, love and energy where it’s needed.

I promise 2013, to keep my promises.

I know you’ll come through with a surge of love, juju, karma, or whatever. I know you’ll be the light, the way. 2013, you won’t just be one year but we’ll begin an affair, to last a lifetime.

Count me in.

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

3 thoughts on “I’m going to have an Affair

  1. You got my attention!!

    Posted by James Osborne | January 3, 2013, 12:29 am
  2. These are lofty and impressive goals, Markella. God be with you and best wishes for meeting them. Happy New Year. Gayle and Ian

    Posted by ianmooremorrans | January 3, 2013, 7:24 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

