you're reading...
EXPERIENCES, INSPIRATION, Writing Adventures

Robots to Writing: Art As A Way of Life


My iPhone app dictionary defines art as such;

1.
the quality, production, expression, or realm, according to aesthetic principles, of what is beautiful, appealing, or of more than ordinary significance.
2.
the class of objects subject to aesthetic criteria; works of art collectively, as paintings, sculptures, or drawings: a museum of art; an art collection.
3.
a field, genre, or category of art: Dance is an art.
4.
the fine arts collectively, often excluding architecture: art and architecture.
5.
any field using the skills or techniques of art: advertising art; industrial art.
6.
(in printed matter) illustrative or decorative material: Is there any art with the copy for this story?
7.
the principles or methods governing any craft or branch of learning: the art of baking; the art of selling.
8.
the craft or trade using these principles or methods.
9.
skill in conducting any human activity: a master at the art of conversation.
10.
a branch of learning or university study, especially one of the fine arts or the humanities, as music, philosophy, or literature.

I prefer #1.

It encompasses all art, life and the quality of how we live. Now, I’m interpreting the dictionary….is that even allowed?

Either way, art is

Watching Mr.T fine tune his cardboard robot into a masterpiece, while I ohh and awe on the sidelines, full of proud mommy encouragement and pride.

Art is listening to the silence and finding out the source of my ghost is something trapped in the vent, and realizing how this played into my story telling.

Art is watching the snow fall. Soft puffs of cold cotton gracefully blanketing the cold earth.

Art is painting with no purpose or vision, just to feel the brush on the fibers of the canvas.

Art is sitting down to finish my novel, and then becoming infused with another idea, for ANOTHER book.

Art is early mornings, steaming with caffeine withdrawal and the push to type a little each morning.

Art is teaching a child the simplicity of creating. Then learning to be fueled with childlike vigor and senses.

Art is the utter softness of threadbare sheets, kissing my hands as I slowly escape the comfort of sleep.

Art is writing my book, then editing it into perfection, then editing it into disaster and realizing it was just perfect the first go around.

Art is finding connections in unknown places, making friends who see the world with the same glasses I’m wearing.

Art is getting my face painted at the fair.

Art is buying flowery stickers to cover my notebook.

Art is care. Attention. Growth. Beauty. Art is life. Art is creation, re-creation, determination, passion and the urge that fills the pit of your stomach to create. Art is the reality that wakes you from your slumber.

It’s all around.

20121210-191006.jpg

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

