you're reading...
EXPERIENCES, FAMILY DIARIES, INSPIRATION

December 2012- Random Acts of Kindness month and finishing my NOVEL


Not because the world is apparently going to end again, this December 21st, 2012,  mark your calendars (which, if it does I will be hugging the heck out of the ones I love as we fall into oblivion), but because as my little men get older I want them to understand kindness and  compassion without anticipating something tangible in return. I have watched them for the last few years develop into these tiny little wonders; people with their own ideas and own ambitions. I have listened to them ask questions from the simple, “how do you make play-dough?”  to the more exploratory, “If God is real, and we can’t see him, how do we know he’s there?”

I have quietly watched on the sidelines as Mr. T helps his little brother on the potty, praises his accomplishments and pats him on the back. I have let little tears of my melting heart slide into my soul as I have sat and watched them play together, each of my children reenacting what they see in their day to day lives. Love. Kindness. Compassion. Trust. Art. Freedom. Anger. Frustration. Hurried attitudes. Sadness. Confusion.

They mimic me,their mother, and their father, and what they see in the world around them.

I want them to mimic the kindness and love that protects them. I want them to teach others  with their own actions. I want them to be the pebble that creates the giant ripple.

I want them to understand the fulfillment in giving without receiving, although they will receive, as I have. We start small. We start at home, with one another.

I can tell you this feat is not easy, it isn’t the one thing that will change their lives inevitably, but it is a start.

We made our lists, we checked it twice, and decided to give to those who are naughty and nice.

To those who suffer, to those in pain

To those who love and those in vain.

We decided to write, to paint and create,

to give a piece of ourselves, with no reason or date.

We decided to show, the ones we love most,

the reason to give, the reason to host.

We looked at our list, we picked our favourite ones,

and flipped through the phone book, and it had begun.

We decided to learn, decided to try,

to be the pebble, that keeps rippling by.

And we will, not just this December, but all year long. We will try our darnedest to create the ripple, to be the pebble. If there is just one thing to leave, to give my children, it would be this. This alone, tells them everything I have been trying to say.

With that, I begin to extract the portion about my novel. IF the world suddenly unravels (further) and we are facing the Apocalypse, I would at least like to have finished my novel, among other things. Just in case, if the next species can read in English, they will have something interesting to read, and forgo the hieroglyphics on rock walls, and perhaps write their own story.Image

I bid you Adieu.

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

2 thoughts on “December 2012- Random Acts of Kindness month and finishing my NOVEL

  1. You are an amazing young woman — with a wonderful talent for writing. Jim

    Posted by James Osborne | December 1, 2012, 9:35 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

