you're reading...
FAMILY DIARIES

Window Watching


 

 

 

Watching my boys play with their father is always a heart warming moment. Through the tackles, tears, tickles, squeals and giggles, I’m reminded why I choose the perfect partner in life. Is there anything more attractive than a man who really adores his children, and actually plays with them, and wants to do things with them? I lean towards no, but that’s my own opinion. Aside from being able to scrub a toilet once in a while and cook a meal, I think a man who is comfortable enough to play with his children, or push a stroller without his partner around, is sizzling in my books.

Why the heck am I writing this you ask?

Because, for the past 11 months or so, I have been unable to do most of these things myself and while my husband has always been like this, I have never really had the opportunity to just sit and watch. Mostly because I was partaking in the shenanigans myself.

“Window Watching” them play together, or snuggle, or do anything together, makes me thankful that I have a partner who isn’t chauvinistic and thinks this is a “woman’s thing”. I’m blessed that he enjoys his boys, and has big plans for the things they will do together. I’m blessed that my boys look up to their father, because he spends this quality time with them. I’m blessed that my husband is a good role model for them, and they view him as firm, loving, gentle and incredible.

It gets me to the core when he comes home from work and the boys race down the hallway shouting, “Daddy! Daddy! Daddy!” and smother him with mini man hugs and lather his face in kid kisses.  He deserves it, every small and every gigantic minute of it.

Ladies, Gentlemen, Children of all ages, if you have a Father like this, squeeze ’em, love ’em, and be so very thankful that he’s yours.

 

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

