you're reading...
FAMILY DIARIES, Things My Kids Ask Me....things I say back

I Love You Mama


I’m often reminded how touching the journey of parenthood is.

When I was a teenager and even in my early twenties, the thought of mother-hood was daunting and sacrificing. I loved children, but during those years thought it was best to leave it to the “professionals”.

Even after meeting my husband, we were both convinced we made a better Aunt and Uncle, rather than thread on foreign territory.

It wasn’t long after we were married, that something changed. What was it? I don’t think I will ever fully understand, but we both knew that we wanted an extension of ourselves, we wanted the pitter patter of little feet scurring around our house and, we wanted the slobbery kisses on our cheeks.

Along came Mr.T

Spirited, sensitive, insightful and the deepest little thinker at five that I have ever met.

We struggled. We laughed. He cried, we cried. He had fits, and God only knows we wanted to throw ourselves on the floor as well.

He questioned me, inquisitive from an early age, about life, death, God, and everything in between. I have tried to answer his questions with honesty and knowledge. I still pray that I have.

Somewhere in between teething, potty training and sleepless nights, we decided that Mr. T should have a sibling. We decided that another set of tiny feet scampering around would add to the happiness in our lives, and give Mr. T  someone else to lean on, share with, teach, learn from and of course, fight with.

Along came Little A.

Full of vigor. Fiesty. Sweet and incredibly loving. Fascinated by all that life has to offer, and a brute contender to Mr. T in sibling brawls.

For me, it isn’t the fact that I am a mother that reminds me of how touching this journey is.

It’s the combination of everything that touches my soul, feeds my own curiosity of life, and the fact that, yes I do get rewarded with slobbery kisses, and mini man bear hugs.

It’s also conversations like this, that make me wipe the tiny tear from my eye, hug my boys so tight, and thank God for the most incredible gift of all, my children.

Mr.T – ” Mommy, I don’t want my five birthday.”  He frowns.

Me.- “How come? You’re turning five…it’s your cool lego starwars five birthday!” I have an excited tone and my eyes light up.

Mr. T- ” Mom, look. If I have a birthday, that means that you’re getting old. Soon, you’ll be an old lady and then you’ll die.” Big sad eyes looked at the floor.

I sigh. He’s right.

I stroke his chin and lift his head up gently. Big brown eyes look at me, worried.

I look back at this sensitive little man, kiss him on the forehead, cup his face in my hands and hug him gently.

Mr.T – ” I just love you so much mommy, and it’s so big, but it fits in my little heart.”

I bring him in for a tighter hug, look out my kitchen window, and wipe the secret tear away.

They love us so much, it’s always Mother’s Day.

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

5 thoughts on “I Love You Mama

  1. Beautiful post, made me cry 🙂

    Posted by writesfromtheheart | May 13, 2012, 7:13 pm
  2. Hope you had a Happy Mama’s Day my friend!
    Your Mr T is incredible….his words/your story …so touching!

    Posted by S | May 15, 2012, 11:35 pm
  3. the things they say: they are so big.

    Posted by daniela elza | June 7, 2012, 9:00 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

