you're reading...
PORTFOLIO

Men + Wine + Aging = Potential Masterpiece or slightly bitter taste in the mouth.


 

 

 

I am slightly unsure how to proceed with the next phase of my book. 

No, I can’t divulge what it’s about, nor can I comment a little bit on it’s genre. 

I am somewhere in between thinking it should be left alone for a while to stew in it’s sauce, while I make another course, or putting it in the fridge for a while only to dig it out from the back corner when I can smell it a few months later. 

Decisions, decisions. It isn’t writer’s block, it more like,” humph, not sure at this moment” block. 

Maybe I need a sabbatical? 

No. 

I think I just need to take my creativity on a different course for a little bit, write something I am unfamiliar with, uncomfortable with, maybe something I am really not skilled in.

Maybe I should take a course? Stimulate my brain again, have somebody TELL me what to write and TELL me what I am doing wrong and what I am doing well, and right. Maybe I need a muse? A sabbatical (back to that again)?

That’s a great idea.

I think I will enroll myself in something. I need to learn a new creative skill, or maybe I do have a hidden talent? I was starting to think I was one of those talentless people, drifting around, telling myself and everyone I met I could juggle. 

Well for now, dear manuscript, you will stew in your juices a little more, while I try my hand on another course. I’ll get back to you, I hate to waste anything. 

You may turn out to be a masterpiece, like a well aged wine.

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

One thought on “Men + Wine + Aging = Potential Masterpiece or slightly bitter taste in the mouth.

  1. I would love to take a course too, just to learn something new. Don’t worry I know you will have a masterpiece someday until then take a break! You deserve it xo

    Posted by writesfromtheheart | May 4, 2012, 2:20 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

