you're reading...
PORTFOLIO

It’s not just abstract, or brush strokes, oil or acrylic.


 

 

I just arrived home from a business trip in Ontario, after an incredibly long week and some terrible weather, I just want to put my feet up.

But I can’t. I met the most compelling “stranger” on the 5 hour plane ride home. Funny how sometimes you meet a stranger and they offer such stimulating conversation, that the dreaded 5 hour jaunt home, turns into a favourable event. I thank this terrific woman for offering up some stimulating conversation and intriguing points to consider.

Now you all know that I don’t mention names in any of my posts, primarily to weed out the crazies out there, so while l do know this lady’s name, I won’t publish it to my post, (I’ll call her S) but you should all look to your neighbour on your next flight and see if there’s an underlying meaning to them having been seated next to you.

I digress, in the 5 hour conversation we were engaged in, I learnt  about perspective and the varying degrees the “artist” ( be that writer, painter, actor etc.) has to gain public understanding of their craft, not simply the finally piece of work.

For me, writing has always been a personal venture, something I never dared share with the outside world. Fear of negative opinions, or just getting it out in public in the first place was a notion I could never conceive. Over a year ago, I decided that my passion in life should also be my career in life. I started this blog as a way for me to finally start sharing some of myself, some of my craft. I can’t say that I publish everything on this blog, actually far from it. I have volumes of notebooks scrawled with stories, poetry, prose and everything in between that stay hidden away, waiting for the day that I will summon the nerve to showcase them.

After listening to S on the plane describe her apprehension to publicizing her art, I have a new understanding of how difficult the process of sharing can be. She described, that she is more than comfortable accepting criticism, compliments etc, but it was more about the process of her art that may end up lost in translation.

This is very true. For the person that appreciates the art of another, it’s difficult to comprehend the process of the art. As in, how the piece came to be, which ultimately is the most important element of any piece of art. The process of any given art, is how, what and why, us creators, create. When you read a piece of poetry, it’s essential to know what is behind the words. Take Percy Bysshe Shelley (1792-1822), to understand his writings you need to know the kind of life that he lived, the struggles, and opportunities he faced as he was writing. In each phase of his writings, he was faced with varying degrees of tribulations, love, confusion and was historical in bringing Atheisim to the public.  Reading the lines of prose alone will not give enough insight to the logic behind the words. It’s essential to know at least a little bit about the artist, to fully comprehend and appreciate the given piece of art, hence the reason for the biography.

While I summon the courage to constantly publicize bits and pieces of my writings, I challenge all my readers to get to know your artist a little better to appreciate the full spectrum of their art.

After all, a piece of art is only a piece of art to those who don’t know the process. If you know that the artist faced adversity, or created a piece from deep love, your appreciation of the piece is the ultimate satisfaction.

To my new friend S, thank you for reminding me the importance of the process in creation. This is the part worth sharing.

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

One thought on “It’s not just abstract, or brush strokes, oil or acrylic.

  1. Markella, I have been speaking about our engaging and stimulating five hour conversation to my family and friends since I am home. Speaking about my art also helped reaffirm my belief in the value and importance of emphasis on the process of creation.
    I really enjoyed your company and your vibrant and engaging personality! Your stories about your family and children highlighted your incredible dedication as a mother who finds joy in all details of family life. Your family are truly lucky to have you!
    I look forward to our paths crossing again one day!

    Please be in touch as unfortunately I have input your email in my phone incorrectly….ugggh!
    Keep writing!
    🙂
    S

    Posted by S | May 4, 2012, 12:48 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

