you're reading...
PORTFOLIO

If You Won the lottery, what is the VERY FIRST thing you would do?


I have clearly been day dreaming, night dreaming or whatever you want to call it, about what I would do if I won the lottery.

I know if I won the $50 million Lotto Max, I have a list of those I want to help, bills to pay off, vacations to take with my family, donations, a home to buy……but what is the very first thing I would do? I’m not too sure, but in the sequence of events this is what I imagine.

Scream. Scream again. Double Check the lottery. Jump up and down and scream again. Check lottery again.

Probably shake uncontrollably as I call Mr. Hubby, who would never believe me. Tell him to come and get me from work because I AM SERIOUS!

Thank God. Thank the Lottery Ticket salesperson.

See Mr. Hubby, together we both scream. Then decide to shut-up before some new “friends” find us.

Cry a little as I would realize financial woe is a thing of the past for us, and the ones we would help.

Cash in Lottery Ticket in Kamloops, then go to The Wildlife Park for the day, and make a donation. Drive slowly home, decide if a rural Starbucks is actually a feasible idea. Decide against it.

Contemplate who to tell, and who to tell first, or just anonymously send a load of cash their way.

Talk about working, deciding if we would?

Maybe part-time, or maybe just bake cupcakes and make delicious Donairs out of a funky food truck.

Maybe not.

Maybe an orchard with peaches, apples, grapes, cherries, or a winery.

Maybe.

We would finally get home from cashing in our ticket and be up all night, restless, excited, and totally weirded out-in a good way.

Finally Fall asleep.

Wake up 40 minutes later, realizing the first thing we need to do tomorrow is to revise our will.

Have a cupcake, then go back to bed, thinking, “Life is Sweet.”

What would you do?

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

One thought on “If You Won the lottery, what is the VERY FIRST thing you would do?

  1. Very great post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wanted to mention that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your weblog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing in your rss feed and I’m hoping you write again very soon!

    Posted by build backlinks | April 17, 2012, 2:31 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

