you're reading...
PORTFOLIO

10 Reasons I look forward to Summer, and it’s not because I get to sweat off any calories.


 

Aside from incredible sunshine, lazy beach days, orchards, wineries and creamy vanilla ice cream to tame the heat, there are a few other reasons I love blustery hot season.

Numero Uno: Getting out of FAT PANTS…and into FAT SHORTS! There is nothing like putting on my last season shorts and letting the tree trunks get a chance to breathe.

#2. Cheap Family Get-A-Ways…pack up the kids, the camper, the cooler and head anywhere. Yeah, it’s a messy ordeal, I get frustrated with all the dirt that ends up in my lil tent trailer, but you know what? It’s so much fun and so much cheaper than airfare couple with hotel rates and eating out in restaurants where my children are likely to waste every morsel of food. This way the chipmunks get a treat too.

#3. Finding out that Bikini Bottoms from two years ago still fit, but that the top doesn’t. Need I say more?

#4. Packing all the winter clothes away, which then entices me to Spring Clean, to make room for the winter-wear, which usually leads to finding hidden money in a coat, or the pair of earrings I thought my boys tossed into the vents. Always, good.

#5. Pedicures, coupled with sandals. Closed up toes get pampered, then get an entire season to absorb the air and vitamin D. Simple things, right?

#6. Knowing that the sun is up before me, and that I can stay up until 11 and watch the sunset.

#7. Summer Reading & Writing, might I add, outside in the heat, while drinking a latte.

#8. Cheeesy…but a walk on the beach. Barefoot. Unplanned. And yes, with my pants rolled into cuffs.

#9. Summer Thunderstorms. The quiet before the storm, then the sudden anxiety as I think this is possibly the loudest thunder I have EVER heard in my life.

#10. Watching an ice cream scoop fall off a little guys ice cream cone. Then watching them pick it up off the cement and eat it. Then watching the parents’ face. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ahh the simple things in life. It better get here quick!

 

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

One thought on “10 Reasons I look forward to Summer, and it’s not because I get to sweat off any calories.

  1. Reblogged this on writesfromtheheart and commented:
    Ahh! Can’t wait for summer 🙂

    Posted by writesfromtheheart | March 27, 2012, 4:08 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

