you're reading...
PORTFOLIO

What do you want to leave behind?


A friend of mine recently wrote to me and asked me an interesting question. She asked me what sort of lessons or things I wanted to leave behind to my children. What were the most important take-aways from life that I would pass along?

The irony in her questions is that this is something I have considered repeatedly throughout pregnancies and parenthood. I was six months pregnant with Mr.T and thought if something unexpected ever happens to me, I want to leave him with a little piece of me. I started my ‘in-case’ journal when I was pregnant and still have it going (thankfully) for both of my little men.

I write to my children in the event that something should happen. There is so much I want to pass along to them, things I have learnt, experiences that have changed my perspective, why compassion is necessary, finding their own path to spirituality and all the between tid bits that make up important pieces in my life.

I write to them, for them. I write them stories about their childhood, the things that they do that tug vigorously on my heart-strings, the soft look that appears in their big brown eyes and how it makes me wonder if there is a love greater than this. I write to them about life, about love. I write to them about my fears and I tell them why. I write to them to let them know my love is enduring and infinite.

What life lessons are so important to you? What would you want to leave as your final piece to your children or the ones you love? What words might be the last piece to your puzzle?

Here are a few of mine, I couldn’t condense my list to just a few things (hence the journal), but here are a few of the lessons I want to pass along to my children.

It is never too late to apologize ~ say it, mean it and do it. Don’t expect forgiveness and things to go back to ‘normal’ but do expect yourself to grow, learn and realize the importance of becoming humble.

Pay it Forward~ Give a little, or a lot. Pass along the intangible, and the tangible. We are all part of the same circle.

Love ~ Show it, feel it, give it. Let yourself be loved and love back. Don’t think about the reasons to love or should love, just love.

Words can pulverize a nation, a world. Words can also repair and be used to start peace.

Find a way~ There is no can’t. There are bumps along the way, walls to climb, fears to face and reality to contend with. There is always a way.

These are just a few, I have filled my ‘in case’ journal with what I have learnt and the important things I would want my boys to have.

What are some of yours? What are the most important things you want to leave behind, other than a legacy?

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

