you're reading...
PORTFOLIO

Apparently the world is ending this year?


 

 

I am certainly no skeptic when it comes to dooms-day prophecies or fore-tellings of an apocalypse. I was raised Roman Catholic, and have a solid knowledge of the Book of Revelations. Like most Catholic children who were raised with a fervent belief that one day the world as we know it will cease to exist, I grew up petrified, thinking that at some point this universe would become a speck of dust in the almighty’s hand.

I am thankful for years of wisdom, as well as years of my soul searching without the iron fist of stern Catholicism. I’m not saying being a Catholic is wrong, but I am saying there needs to be room for each individual to explore religion, or spirituality rather, on their own terms. Getting in touch with GOD, or whatever spirituality you seek is a personal journey, one that no other soul will understand the way that you do.

Getting back to the pending catastrophic future…..my belief is this; we will not know when, the time, the place, or the hour that this apparent apocalypse will swallow us. Maybe there are ‘signs’ and maybe there are warnings, disguised for only the few that are privileged enough to understand them. Or, maybe not. Here’s the thing, I think. I think these interpretations are a universal way of telling the human race that maybe we should be fixing what is broken now. Why wait to become a better person, until the apparent end of the world? Why wait to to make this your best year, to go out with a bang? Why wait to save the planet from self-destruction? Why?

At some point, we will all die. At some point, whether it is the end of the entire world, or just our own, these things will have struck a point of consideration, and serious relevance in our thoughts. Be it on our death bed at 90 or the year 2012, we will have thought, “Is this the best I could have done with what I was given?”

Why are we always trying to live in fear? Is it because we think fear will generate a more compassionate human being of us, will fear make us take a stand for our beliefs? Like I said, why wait?

Should we not be the absolute best that we can be, regardless of impending doom? I think so. I would like to die without having to question my spirituality, my morals, my effort, or anything I did while I lived. If you are living the best that you can possibly live, and putting your best foot forward for everything, there are no questions, there isn’t that fear. That is why we are all scared to die, because some part of each of us wonders, “What if there is more after this life, and I haven’t done enough?”

I will tell you this. If the world explodes into oblivion this year, or any year after, I do not intend on stock pile canned food and bottle water, or arming myself with guns (although this is apparently necessary). I intend on holding the ones who mean the world to me in my arms, closing my eyes and knowing that I did my chance on earth justice.  If the world ends, is temporary survival of the fittest really as relevant as we imagine it to be? I lean towards no. After all, we all have the same thing in common, life and death.

I was inspired to write this after hearing, reading and watching countless stories and prophecies on our inevitable fate. I felt frustrated with all the hoop-la and insanity that people put themselves through over this fear. If it is ‘to be’, it is ‘to be’. Living and dying is really about how you have lived your life.

Live everyday like it’s your first and your last. That’s taking a stand against fear, in any scenario.

 

 

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

