you're reading...
FAMILY DIARIES

Tarzan vs. Spiderman


While war isn’t breaking out between Mr. Loin Cloth and the popular web head, there certainly is a bit of competition, at least in my house.

Little A has a strong like for the vine swinging, gorilla loving hero and Mr. T still loves spiderman and his ability to cast webs from his wrists as he dangles from unimaginable heights.

Little A has taken to wearing underwear around the house, his refusal to wear any other item of clothing is strong. His claims are adamant as he says with conviction, “I am a Tarzan!” A determined frown accompanies this claim.

Mr. T on the other hand wears his Spiderman costume, even thought it is now much too small and tight on his lanky frame. He jumps from couch to couch and falls with spidey grace as he shoots invisible webs at the unsuspecting Tarzan.  Tarzan becomes increasingly frustrated by these transparent webs and finally I have to step in and use my stern mommy voice, “That’s enough boys!”

I attempt to dress Little A, or Tarzan rather and this results in high pitched squeals, shouting and flailing of tiny chubby arms and legs. Tarzan prefers his loin cloth, or Thomas skivvies.

Mr. T asks if he can watch a show. I know what this means, he will try to convince me that he is old enough to watch Spiderman, I will for the thirteenth million time, say , “No.” he will ask for the old cartoons ( less violence and better language), I will say i will think about this. He is in a heap on the floor, the only thing missing from the scene is his pleading on his knees.

In two minutes Little A is shouting Tarzan and Mr.T is yelling Spiderman. I tell them there is no show, until they can agree on something.

I personally prefer Tarzan to Spiderman any day of the week. Maybe it’s because Phil Collins does an exquisite job of the music and lyrics, or maybe it’s because Tarzan isn’t a supernatural hero. Tarzan in my opinion had to adapt to survive more than Spiderman, who was fortunately bitten by a spider and became a superhero. Tarzan, not glorified, Spiderman, heroic icon. Mr.T would cringe if I shared this opinion with him, so I won’t. Who wants to argue with a four and a half year old lawyer anyway?

They ask again for a show. I feel like subjecting them to Barney, the gigantic purple loving dinosaur. Maybe then they would wear clothing, sing and stop competing. For now, I will endure the many attempts of trying to get them into more than one small item of clothing, and keep breaking up disagreements between toddler and pre-schooler about who’s better.

 Mr.T and Little A, you’re both remarkable in  my books.

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

