you're reading...
PORTFOLIO

Marvel.


 

I look at your little hands, so clammy and chubby in their youth, the awkwardness of your hands adorable as I watch you struggle to pick up your toys with accuracy. Your barefoot feet pattering on the floor as you run  around the house. These are the little feet that I tickle and the tiny toes that I kiss. Your giggles are contagious and full of life. Your small voices attempting adult words as you mimic my words. You show pride as you count as high as you can. You sing little songs in your own melody, making my heart grow every time. Is there any love greater than my love for you?

You run with determination as you embrace me with hugs and shower me with wet kisses. I laugh and I am surprised at the strength in your little body. You say , “I love you.” most of the time when you feel you need to. I am touched at the thoughtfulness in your tender age.

You hold my face in your small, soft hands and I hold yours in my gentle embrace. You look into my eyes and I look into yours. We stare for a few quiet moments, then burst into fits of giggles.

You are a joy, you are the tenderness in my heart, the life in my soul, the smile on my face.

When you cry, my heart breaks for you. You are sometimes too little to comprehend your own emotions. I stroke your hair between my fingers. Sometimes you worry too much about things that are even too mature for me. I want you to enjoy being small as you marvel at the things adults have forgotten, as you see life the way we all should, through a child’s eyes.

I look at you, my precious gifts, I hold you close, but it’s never close enough, I want these moments to last forever, but they won’t.

You will never slip away as you grow up, I will always be there, always enchanted by who you are.

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

