you're reading...
PORTFOLIO

Deadline is loooooooming.


I have set the deadline to finish my novel for January 31st, 2012. feasible? I think so. Aside from reworking a couple of chapters, having to still type it ALL out and edit, I’m well on my way and well over a hundred pages in (lovely illegible handwritten pages).

I found myself stuck the other night. I had spent th entire day formulating the next couple chapters in my head, I was full of brilliant ideas. 8 o’clock came that evening and my momentum fizzled. I was frustrated, nothing was flowing the way it had during the day. I wasn’t even tired, I was prepared to write for a few hours, but no. I ended up working on chapter six, not chapter four. Thankfully, I woke up in the middle of the night knowing what chapters four and five will look like. Maybe I used up too much of my creative energy throughout the day.

People have told me to type as I am writing my novel, but I find this incredibly distracting, I end up editing and re-working as I go and lose my train of thought and my steady pace. Besides, I like to get it all written out and make my notes in a multitude of colorful ink in the margins.

I plan on spending the rest of the holiday season and the early new year finishing my masterpiece, then I will dedicate three grueling weeks in February to typing, editing and rearranging if I need to. I am certain this will bring me to tears and I’ll howl out a few choice words while I’m at it.

If there are any of you writers out there that have any tips for me to keep the momentum going, or keeping my deadline in tact please let me know!

Another question, do I really need a literary agent? If I do, any great recommendations?

Novel Deadline: January 31, 2012

EEEEEEK!

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Deadline is loooooooming.

  1. you can do it!!!!!!

    Posted by andrew | December 27, 2011, 9:15 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

