you're reading...
PORTFOLIO

Temporary Leave of Absence


A plane ride and a shuttle and I was in Edmonton, breathing in the chilly air and glancing at the icy roadways and millions of lights lighting up the cold sky. I took a mini hiatus from my family, thinking I would miss them and thinking at the same time that absence makes the heart grow fonder. Well, it’s certain, I really miss them, my boys and my supportive husband. I miss their little bodies tackling me to the ground and the way Mr.T says I love you at random moments throughout the day, I miss Little A and his adorableness. I miss my husband and his smug and funny remarks. I miss the smell of my house and the cluttered counter-tops. I miss my cat and her irritating push for affection. Yes, it has been only two days; but in the world of constant family, this is a tough thing to grasp.

Now don’t get me wrong, I am being incredibly productive on my hiatus. I have read a full book thus far and am engrossed halfway through another. I have written another fifteen pages and have managed to book myself solid for the next few days of my trip. I am bewildered that I am alone and that I don’t have a domestic schedule calling out to me. I am also feeling the need to clean a bathroom or cook a meal, to which I have been told firmly, “No.” I will take that with a grain of salt as I know the “hotel” I am visiting will not mind if I tidy up a few things before I head back to the comfort of my own home.

Time alone has been nice so far, I admit. People, whether or not you have kids, need to take a sabbatical from life every now and again. Good for the soul, good for the mind and good to let go, even if for a short while. I think my husband should take a hiatus in the new year, refresh. We all need a break, even our kids.

I have spent more than ample time with myself, having long hot baths with my book in tow and a glass of wine as good company. Silence too, which is good in moderation, just like my previously mentioned good company has been a nice to enjoy. I also discovered lyrics in a few songs I had never had the opportunity to fully hear or listen to, some of which I remarked, “What the?” and others that made me smile and think, “good stuff, good writing.”

For the next few days I will enjoy getting in touch with me, writing a gigantic amount and soaking in the words of other wonderful authors. I will happily return home to the wonderful hustle and bustle, the noise, the routines of bath time and dinners, cringing at toilet cleaning and enjoying the company of my incredible little family.

 

 

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

One thought on “Temporary Leave of Absence

  1. I actually get pleasure from your write-up. Excellent mind-set!
    . . . . . . . . . . .

    Posted by osievrosieb | December 8, 2011, 6:58 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

