you're reading...
FAMILY DIARIES

I wonder why balls are always hitting me in the face… (yup, you heard me)


 

What is with the jumping, and the climbing, and the throwing of random objects? I had a plastic orange ball skin the side of my face while I was cooking supper, another one, a mid-sized basket ball this time, fly past my noggin just as I was about to sip my well deserved wine. I went to scold my expecting four-year old and his little brother, but noticed that they, along with my husband had snuck away.  Why is that jumping off couches, tables, chairs, beds, dump trucks, stairs, boxes, benches, soccer balls and stuffed animals is a necessary component in earning the “I AM BOY” badge of honour? Is there no other way to express their vigor, their constant need to move, or show whoever is witnessing how incredible they are? I know they are incredible, is this not enough?

I wonder why they have this need to climb too. I wonder if they feel they need to stretch their little limbs to their full capacity and see if their little fingers can really hold their body weight as they cling to the top of the refrigerator? I thought maybe this is some innate need to identify with their masculinity, but then I realized that this may simply be that they want to be a super-hero, or a spider or anything else that may climb and jump. Thoughts?

In trying to curb the boys from flinging their miniature man bodies from counter top to floor or from couch to head on bookshelf fiascos, we were given a mini trampoline. Problem solved….or so I thought. As it turns out, trampolines are just another piece of equipment to use in jumping higher to jump off, or to jump on to random objects. Not only this, Little A who is now treading in two-year old land, loves to jump on this thing, the problem is that his coördination is lacking, so instead of being able to land firmly on his two very solid toddler legs, he wobbles and bobbles and WHAM, head on bookshelf or he has toppled over his poor noggin knocking something in its path, usually a toy train.

It is not possible to wrap my house in sponge or memory foam, no. It is not possible to live without my fridge or any other tall objects, no. It is possible to keep scolding and telling my kids, “If you don’t cut that jumping out I’LL TAKE YOU OUT……….to dinner.

Here’s to hoping that someone will take me out…..to dinner of course, without jumping or climbing at least for a little while.

 

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

