you're reading...
FAMILY DIARIES

Kudos To you, Solo parents.


How, how, how? I ask this question with vigour to all you single parents out there. I cannot imagine for a second being a full-time parent without a partner to share the responsibilities, joys and frustrations with. When you have those wonderful moments with your children, the exhausting days, afternoons and evenings…

It takes a lot of work to raise children, even with a dedicated partner . I look forward to those evenings when my husband gets home from work so I can “tap out” for even a brief few moments.

You don’t get those moments.

How do you do it without a break? When do you get your moments to recharge?

Staying at home with my little guys is a great opportunity, but it’s one thing to be able to look to my husband and say, “I need a few minutes to myself.” Don’t get me wrong, it’s not that it’s an easy job raising children in any scenario, it’s a tough job and the constant demand for one thing or another is physically, emotionally and at times a mental state of sheer and utter exhaustion.

There are days that I don’t get a moment alone and most of the time ALONE TIME means further cleaning, cooking and recouping the house. I cherish those moments alone with my thoughts, even while attempting to clear the floor of dump trucks, lego and random socks.

But, you parents that don’t get those times, and can still manage to raise remarkable little wonders deserve a major pat on the back.

Who helps you in the middle of the night when one child is throwing up blue jello, and the other has a nightmare? Who helps you get dinner on the table, work out algebra problems with a flustered 13 year old and clean the mess the dog left on the floor?

Who gives you a moment to yourself, to think about yourself?

For all you single parents out there I give a standing ovation, you deserve it, you work so hard.

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Kudos To you, Solo parents.

  1. Markella, I absolutely agree. My husband travels for work sometimes. If it’s more than a few days, I’m toast by the time he returns. God bless the single parent, and I mean that with all reverence!

    Posted by Aimee @ everydayepistle.com | September 1, 2011, 2:51 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

