you're reading...
CHRONICLES OF A NEWBIE RUNNER

Pain in my…


It’s been a good week since I set out to run. Too long, soon I’ll be incapacitated for a month from surgery and won’t be able to lift a measly 10 pounds. Maybe that’s what has me down, the realization that I will be out of service for a month and need to retrain HARD for 2 solid months to run 21 km. I had a dream last night that I ran the full marathon, I woke up laughing, not because I dreamed that I ran the full marathon, but because I was wearing neon green shorts and running like nobody’s business without a care in the world, and because I had finished in 1 hour and 48 minutes. Impossible. I’m not being negative, but really this is unrealistic. It was a great dream anyway.

So the plan for the next few weeks as my hubby makes his way out of town for 3 weeks, is to hire a babysitter so I can run for two hours each evening, otherwise I  fear I will end up wilting and turning to fleshy mush in a couple weeks. With the incentive that I am paying someone to watch my children, I know I will get my butt out there and make some serious progress. Will muscle memory last four weeks? Hopefully I can just get back on the wagon in August and still be able to run without passing out somewhere on the side of the road. Call it in if you see me.

Until the next run….

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

