you're reading...
FAMILY DIARIES

Turns out I like bugs..hmmm who knew?


I’m a bug mama. I don’t like anything to squiggly or squishy looking, but in general I don’t mind the crunchy looking bugs,or flying ones. Mr.T loves bugs, he loves all kinds of bugs and generally won’t hesitate to pick them up and show me in his delight what he found. At first I thought, “Uh, no thanks .”  Then I thought, I have 2 boys, If I can’t beat ’em, then I should just join in. This also works in my favour. I won’t be one of those moms that faints when one of  my sons brings me bugs, in fact I won’t have to worry about them trying to freak me out with their little findings.

I discovered this a few weeks ago when we went camping. Mr.T has an assortment of bug collecting gear and I even bought him a bug journal and fact book, so that we can document when and where we find these little guys and write out a description. It’s great. I have never been a science guru or had a love affair with anything that lived beneath my feet, but I am enjoying our little hunts.

Although my boys love their bugs, I am the trapper. I am the one who collected 3 Wolfe Spiders, an Orbe Weaver, 4 Dragonflies, a Bumble Bee, a slimy looking cricket thing (still trying to pin point what it really is) a massive queen ant, some red carpenter ants, a maple bug, a caterpillar that was trapped in a massive cobweb with hundreds of other caterpillars, and some of the crunchy little pill bugs. The ones that have died will take their places respectively in the shadow boxes with their names and proper scientific names, and their descriptions underneath. They will hang with the others on Mr.T’s bedroom wall.

Somewhere along the line of this bug collecting frenzy, I was so caught up in the excitement that I told my little man I would catch him a snake. Seriously, who does that? The only bug that makes me faint or raises my blood pressure are worms, isn’t a snake like a giant worm?

He is holding me to it. We saw a snake near the lake earlier this week, I actually thought about trying to get it. Quickly, I realized I had nothing to put it in, and if I am to snake hunt I want my pink gardening gloves and the paramedics close by.  I would rather trap Black Widows and Scorpions (which is also on our list). Obviously, I will be safe and keep my little dudes far enough away, but if I happen to come across one or the other, you betcha, I’ll go for the gusto!

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

