you're reading...
CHRONICLES OF A NEWBIE RUNNER

June 6th…Congratulations you have reached your goal!


I was primed and ready to go today. I took my regular 5 ounces of Xango juice in the morning and another 5 ounces before my run. I told myself all day that I would run a great run. I would push myself. I would feel the burn and try so hard to push past it. I was ready for it. I wanted to run my 5 km with ease . Then somewhere around suppertime I decided to map out my route on runningmap.com.  I would run down to Okanagan Lake and if I could, try to run all the way back home. The map said roundtrip the run was approximately 9.94 km, which is 4.94 km more than I have ever even attempted to run in my life. Well, at least I knew I would make it down to the lake.

With my little Nike + i pod pedometer in great working order (finally), I set off on my run. I decided to change my route because I thought a difference in scenery might help to push me a little more. After the 3 km mark I was still feeling pretty good. I kept going , being very aware of my pace. I made it to the lake, which would have been great scenery except for the people who should really keep their clothes on. I was waiting for my little pedometer to tell me that I had ran 5 km any second at this point. When she finally said it, I felt great and kept going. I pushed. I reached my mental wall at about 6 and a half kilometres or so. I kept going, it was tough. Then she said I had reached 7 km. That was my mark, I started to feel like this was too easy. I kept going, my legs didn’t hurt, my breathing was great, my gum was a little wad of non flavoured goo, but still I started to feel even better.

I kept on running, past where I would normally turn to go back up the hill home. Finally she said 100 meters to go. I pushed harder, my legs going as quick as they could. Then she said , “Congratulations, you have reached your workout goal of 11.37 km at a pace of 5.05 per kilometre in 57 minutes and 58 seconds.”  I couldn’t believe I had just run that, was she possibly mistaken? And was she really watching my pace?

I felt elated. I had smashed my 5 km goal and exceeded it by 6.37 km, still I checked my pedometer again. I briskly walked the rest of the way home, listening to my RELAX playlist. I couldn’t wait to tell my husband, if he could stand to smell me long enough as I would gush over and over about how I had run more than I have ever thought I could.

Next Run: Wednesday, June 8th. 5 km

Friday, June 10th. Participating in an RCMP 5 km run.

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

