you're reading...
CHRONICLES OF A NEWBIE RUNNER

My foot hurts.


I ran 5 km the other day. It wasn’t the wind through my hair, la dee dah kind of run. It stunk. I went out, feeling motivated and ready to get ‘er done, but found that I was just not into it that day. I was bummed out, I just bought a new i pod + nike pedometer, where a nice little voice reminds me of how many kilometres I have run while I am blissfully listening to my tunes. No, the little voice did not tell me anything. Turns out I am not the greatest at reading instructions on little techie devices, I leave it to my husband to figure out, then allow him to bless me with his newfound knowledge. I didn’t do that this time. Needless to say I was running blind. I had no idea when I had completed my 5 km, so I just kept going, with many stops as my body was getting frustrated with me.  But I finished it.

Today is a beautiful evening to run, it’s slightly rainy and perfectly cool. But I am so exhausted. I don’t think I can sell the idea of anymore movement to my body. In addition, I wore my new pair of wedges the other day. You guessed it, I was breaking those 4 inch suckers in, and now my right foot feels like I dropped a 25 pound weight on it. I won’t let it hold me back for long though. I am kid-less tomorrow as my boys will be enjoying some time at their daycares, so I am sure I can find some time to get my running gear out of the laundry basket and head through the hills.

Plan A: Learn to use my pedometer

Plan B: Put a light tensor on my foot

Plan C: Charge my i pod so I can use my pedometer

Next run: Thursday, May 26th, 2011. 5Km.

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

