you're reading...
CHRONICLES OF A NEWBIE RUNNER

Starting off small.


          Last year our next door neighbours, my husband and I all decided to run in a marathon. Not the full 42KM run. The guys decided to run the half marathon, which is a daunting 21.5Km and us women decided that 5KM was more than enough for our first ever run. This year however, I committed myself to run the 21.5KM run, as well as running a “smooth” 10KM mini marathon run sometime before the big run. I used to run, a long,long time ago, back when I was a limber teenager. So what possessed me, a smoker, wine and food lover to say “yes”, is frankly beyond my comprehension. But, I have committed myself, thus I will run the half marathon.

Last year, after running the 5KM I felt incredible, I should rephrase that. Running in general makes me feel incredible. With some great music on my IPOD, the wind brushing against my skin, the sun warming my back and my thoughts drifting from one thing to another, makes me feel wonderful. Plain and simple, I love to run. I love to tinker with my thoughts as I run. My thoughts drift, I sort out the day, deliberate my dilemmas, come up with creative ideas and a lot of the time, just enjoy the scenery and the moment. I love the time to myself, the opportunity to pat myself on the back as I push myself through the distances and my physical limits. Its tough, it hurts,I sweat in the heat and just when my body is screaming, “ENOUGH!”, I tell myself, “You can do this.” I focus on my breathing, slowly as I lift my arms to the sky, feel my thighs burning, my lungs still doing fine at the 5KM mark.

I can do this. I can do this. While the fear of the half marathon is looming, I know that with discipline, some serious lifestyle changes (ahem, the smoking thing) and the dedication and love I have for the sport, I will do it.  21.5KM here I come.

Next training date: Thursday May19th, 2011. 5KM run.

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

