you're reading...
FAMILY DIARIES

Schedule is following…..


After a few hectic weeks, being here and away to Edmonton, I have finally come up with what I think is a feasible schedule. I say think because, A: I am not a morning person (my husband reminds me of this frequently) and B: it’s the consistency thing I have been battling (as I mentioned in an earlier post).

So here it is…

Mondays, Tuesdays and  Fridays- I will reluctantly roll out of bed at a sunny and fresh 5 AM and go for run for an hour, (Did I mention I am training for the half marathon this year?) This is painful. I am not at all a morning person. Really, it’s bad.

6AM- Attempt a shower SANS the kids walking in on me.

6:30AM-Grab a steaming cup of raspberry cream coffee and sit at my lovely little mac and write for an hour.

7:30AM-The little men should be wandering the house and calling me by now (if not sooner). Get them ready for the day, and don’t let my 4 year old wear a Halloween costume or green footed pyjamas AGAIN. I can say no, really  I can.

8:00AM-Feed my munchkins and debate about letting them watch the Bubble Guppies. I will leisurely tidy my house at this time. I say leisurely because I always get distracted with something, cleaning is leisure time in my world.

8:30AM-Let’s Play. I call this free play, or non-directive play (a term I became familiar with in a parenting class, pretty much let the kids run the play show, don’t teach them anything or try to make a lesson of their play, they tell you jump, you ask, “How high, dear?”)

9:30AM-Work. I say work because in my 4 year olds Montessori program, they “work” they focus and work on one task at a time. They start a task and complete it, this includes them cleaning up after themselves. I love it. So we will work on numbers and letters and fill the other gaps with learning activities.

10:30AM-Snack time. I struggle with this because I don’t typically snack. If my stomach isn’t growling out the alphabet I don’t usually pay too much attention to my eating habits. Nonetheless, my boys will eat.

11:00AM-Reading time. My oldest loves to read with me, my youngest is interested in pulling the books off the shelves, staking them and standing on them. We have a library in our hallway upstairs and I can’t help when I see a bookstore walking out with a bag full of books for myself and the kids.

11:30AM-Are they not tired yet? I know by this point my little man is usually begging for a nap, literally. He even says “Please“. My oldest always says he isn’t tired, but I can see it in his eyes and the way he ends up throwing himself onto the floor in a dramatic display of emotions. I will try to get him to sleep, the youngest one is already there. I usually get 2 hours.

11:30-1:30PM-My time. In house errands, calls without the interruptions, always laundry and of course, my writing time. 2 hours of what I could call bliss.

1:30PM-Up and at ’em again! Let’s do lunch, a light one since dinner is around the corner.

2:00PM-Its time to go outside. Run. Walk. Jump. Play. Look for bugs (my absolute FAVOURITE thing to do, I don’t mind, unless there are earthworms). Bike. Park. Feed the ducks. Walk downtown, grab flowers and a latte. Hang out with my little prince charmings.

4:00PM-Get the clan in the door and bribe them to help me with dinner and a quick tidy up.

5:00PM-Hopefully we’re eating at this point.

6:00PM-A quick family kitchen tidy up, then family time. Games. Wrestling with Daddy (since apparently I am not as good as Daddy). Reading. Playing Cars.

7:00PM-Get those boys in the tub, there is something in their hair! Bath time.

7:30PM-Fight with my oldest to get out of the tub. Threaten to take away his beloved story time. He gets out. Again, fight over brushing his teeth. Threaten to take his favourite stuffed penguin, Peipei. Brush his teeth. Convince him that 1 long story is equivalent to 2 short ones. Agreed. Reading. Struggle to leave his bedroom as he begs for more snuggles and whispers, “I love you sweetheart mom. Please……”. Contemplate staying a little longer, but resist because I know I will fall asleep in 30 seconds flat if I do. I say no, and give him a final kiss and goodnight hug. Meanwhile, my husband has put our youngest down without so much as a peep. Hmmmmm. Is it me?

8:00PM-Hopefully it’s 8 o’clock. Make a cup of green tea, or pour a glass of British Columbia local wine. Get downstairs and write for a few hours. Try not to get easily distracted with the Biggest Loser or Parenthood, (the TV is conveniently behind me).

10:00PM-Debtate on bedtime for an hour as I watch something on TV. Realize it’s 11 o’clock and start the trek upstairs to bed.

11:00PM-Get into bed. Fall asleep quickly.

11:04PM-My youngest is crying. Frantically. Let him cry it out.

11:05PM-That’s long enough! Go in and rock him, soothe him for a little bit.

11:48PM-What?!!! Get back into bed, toss and turn until I get back up at 5Am.

Wednesdays-This is an exactly the same day, only in the afternoons we have gymnastics.

Thursdays-My little men have daycare. Once a week. This is me time. This is when I work.

Weekends-Let’s not carried away, some spontaneity is necessary. It’s a free for all, let’s be honest.

Until a revision is needed………

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

One thought on “Schedule is following…..

  1. good luck ! ;o)

    Posted by Manon | May 10, 2011, 3:25 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

