you're reading...
INSPIRATION, SONGS FROM MY SUBCONSCIOUS

Spring


Breathe. I inhale the cool morning air. I cough as it tickles my lungs. I can see the snow covered mountain tops, glistening not far away from where I stand on my deck. A sparrow perches in front of me, starring intently, it chirps as it gazes at me. I smile.

Breathe. This time I smell fresh grass and the smell of dirt that the morning breeze carried over. I can hear the chirping of little birds and a dog barking somewhere in the distance.

The sun makes everything look clean and crisp this morning. This would be the perfect morning to hang laundry on the clothes line, especially bedsheets.

The Weeping Willows are starting to colour again, this is my favourite tree. Their graceful and sorrowful branches and stems reaching downwards as if desperately trying to conceal itself from the world; only to discover by doing this, it has only become more beautiful.

The hillsides sleek in fresh green patches, from a distance they look like they are covered in soft smooth velvet, and my hands ache to smooth over them. Some of the hills are dotted with black specks,cows. Grazing the new grass and slowly walking to the next spot for a sweet taste.

The leafless trees starting to bud their innocent new leaves all simultaneously as if they know it’s safe to show themselves to the world.

Breathe. I can smell somebody’s breakfast. I wonder if there is a morning cooking frenzy happening in their kitchen. With frying pans laden with egg residue and drippings from fresh waffle batter strewn on countertops and dotting the floor. I wonder if their kids are playing in couch cushions, still in their pyjamas waiting for the breakfast call. Maybe there are no kids. Maybe the mister is making a divine breakfast in bed for his darling. They’ll read the morning paper , and fumble with trays and coffee cups to cooperate on the clumsy bedding. They’ll laugh as they spill coffee on the freshly washed sheets.

Breathe. I sip my coffee which is quickly getting cold in the breeze. Time to start the day.

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

