you're reading...
FAMILY DIARIES, INSPIRATION

Light My Fire!


What does exhaustion have to do with writer’s block? I have always thrived with a bit of stress in my life, the good stress of course. Of course you know what I mean, not the “oh great, it comes in threes” business. But the good stress, like being so busy you can barely fit things into your schedule, but still have the time and energy to squeeze in a bit of writing at midnight, that kind of stress. So back to my question about exhaustion and writers block, I think there might be a link here. Yes, I know I have a keen eye for the obvious (or so I’ve been told). Take me for example, I don’t really have a heck of a lot on my plate, in terms of other commitments that is. I have my two adoring and incredibly energetic little boys who do keep me busy about 13 to 14 hours a day, but that’s it. Other than household career opportunities begging for my attention (like my laundry, which actually is folded), I haven’t committed myself to anything else, yet I am so exhausted. I’m burnt. I’m spent. I’m done like dinner. Hung like laundry. I’m finished my day when my kids go to bed these days. When I was working a full-time job on the other hand, I had enough gas left in me to hang out with my taller half, and commit myself to other obligations. So is this exhaustion part of me being at home? Or is it that every night I scour my ‘The Writer’s Market’ highlighting each publisher that I “know” will love my work when I finally write it and send off my dreaded query letter? The reasearch and the opportunities are always on my to do list, and so is the writing part, but I’m finding it a little difficult to get down to the nitty-gritty of what exactly will be my ‘This is it!’ piece.

When I finally get the opportunity, like this lovely rainy evening, with my hot tea in front of me (the baby starts crying), I end up about a paragraph into whatever my masterpiece is and then KAPUT….it sort of just goes away. And of course I think to rekindle the fire I need some inspiration, so  I grab a few great books, some inspirational magazines and then wait for my kettle to boil so I can sip and read or do some research while I relight my fire.

So maybe if I have more on my plate I’m more likely to get to the writing bit, and if I’m less exhausted from  not having enough to do, I’ll succumb to my inner genius. Worth a try I say!

For now though (until I jam pack my life), I’m re-lighting my fire, until it starts!

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

