you're reading...
PORTFOLIO

A Writers Porfolio


I have been on so many sites that are aimed to help the freelance writer start or enhance their professional writing career. What I have not been able to find is a site that gives you advice on the process of selling yourself as a writer. You other writers out there; does this sound familiar?

We know that for any job application and job interview we have to sell ourselves, our capabilities and why we think we would be the best candidate for the job. But, unlike the average job application, freelance writers are faced with having to sell yourself in a somewhat saturated market. And how can we do this?

It’s been my experience over several (and I mean several) years in face to face, B2B and telephone sales, that sales, no matter what kind of sales,it is a process necessary to make the world go round. Thus, I find myself at a road block. It hasn’t been years since I have written anything, but it’s been years since I’ve shared my written word with very many people. Where does a writer go from here? How do we sell our skills and competencies to let our prospects know we can solve their problem? And how do we do this when we are just beginning our journey in professional writing?

If you’re like me, and have dabbled in everything from creative writing, journalism to technical writing, you know your skills and the variety of topics you can cover is pretty diverse. How can you show this in your portfolio? What should you sample in your portfolio?

The following two weeks are aimed at building my writing portfolio and building my website. I’ll share with you the interesting tidbits and feedback that I receive and find.

If any of you have any particulars you’s like for me to include here or on my website please comment. I will do my best to source out information and answer yours and mine question.

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

