you're reading...
EXPERIENCES, FAMILY DIARIES

What will the next day bring?


So, after a long enough career in the banking and finance industry, and countless hours of unpaid overtime worked in this depreciating economy, I decided (not on a whim) to quit my day job. I’d like to say that my epiphany, if you will, came after an inspirational article in the O , which was my very first O magazine purchase ever…regardless, it wasn’t dear Oprah that made me quit my job, but the part about “am I really happy doing….?” did stir up some thinking. It was the every day fact that my three-year old would drag his feet as if he were tied by anchors when I asked him to get ready to go to daycare. And, to top the icing on my cake, he would tell me that he would give me all his money so I could stay home with him, and his brother of course.  I began to question this after some time. Not that I’m letting my three-year old dictate our financial future or any of it, but really, was I happy? I certainly wasn’t making any money, and I was definitely not thrilled to drag myself into the office everyday. So why was I there? After all, I was forking out more in childcare for my two boys than I was actually bringing home….dare I say that I wasn’t really making a contribution?

So after deliberating with my more logical half, we decided that it was in my best interest to quit my day job, raise our children while they are still little adoring people and focus what I have intended on doing since I was a little girl. Which is, to write.  It’s funny, well maybe not really funny, but ten years ago, I went to school for Journalism, had spent my life pursuing my dream of becoming a professional writer and then somewhere along the way let a decent job offer take me away from my passion.

I think my epiphany was to live my life with purpose, to be happy, to enjoy my kids and find what really makes me tick and what really drives my passion…so this is my journey, again.

About markella

I am a freelance writer with a creative flare for life. I see inspiration in all that I encounter and have a thirst for knowledge, life, running, cooking, being outdoors, my incredible family and of course taking pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I spend much of my time as a student in life, learning from kids and all the wonder that surrounds us. I believe in always asking questions, even when nobody else will. l love the bountiful Okanagan Valley, where I call home and anticipate each season, as creativity and inspiration take their form all over the place here. I love the clinche saying, "You've made your bed, now lie in it." I believe we create our paths and determine our futures. Maya Angelou puts it simple and exact, " Be present in all things and thankful for all things."

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 366 other followers

Archives

Top Rated

